The Vision Council to Kick Off 'Open Your Eye's Virtual Frame Auction' on June 19

By
More Images
ALEXANDRIA, Va.—The Vision Council is announcing the Open Your Eyes Frame Auction, a virtual auction during which frames with special significance designed by leading independent eyewear designers will be auctioned off to support two charities, the Equal Justice Initiative and My Brother's Keeper Alliance. The auction will begin on Friday, June 19 at 6:00 p.m. EDT during a virtual happy hour hosted by Tarrence Lackran, director of partnerships and programming for The Vision Council, and the participating eyewear designers, and will conclude on Friday June 26 at 11:59 p.m. EDT. The kickoff date of June 19 was chosen to honor the celebrations of Juneteenth, a long-recognized day that commemorates the abolition of slavery in the U.S.

To attend the virtual happy hour on June 19, click here .

“In a society where black lives have been undervalued and their voices have been muted, I am happy to join these independent designers who have proven themselves to be genuine allies of the black community to support these charities that make a difference in our educational and justice systems,” said Lackran. “Though some may feel that engaging in a conversation about racism is uncomfortable, we must have these uncomfortable conversations until they become comfortable in order to push forward a more equitable agenda, starting in our industry.”

Each of the participating designers will present their one-of-a-kind frame to be auctioned off during the virtual happy hour on June 19.  To make a bid, frame enthusiasts from the industry as well as consumers are encouraged to visit the participating frame company’s Instagram account, listed below, and follow their specific instructions for bidding. 

  •  AHLEM (@ahlem)
  • Anna-Karin Karlsson (@annakarinkarlssoneyewear)
  • Barton Perreira (@bartonperreira)
  • Blake Kuwahara (@blakekuwahara)
  • Cazal (@cazal_official)
  • Christian Roth (@christianrotheyewear)
  • Jacques Marie Mage (jacquesmariemage)
  • l.a.Eyeworks (@laeyeworks)
  • Morgenthal Frederics & Robert Marc (@morgenthalfrederics & @robertmarcnyc)
  • Nico Roseillier (@nicoroseillier)
  • Rigards (@rigards)
  • Selima Optique (@selimaoptique)

Frames of special significance may include frames that fit one of the three categories:

  • One-of-a-kind and never released.
  • High demand but discontinued.
  • Part of a moment in eyewear history.

Art by Karen Goins (@_karen.goins_)

All bids will start at retail value and all proceeds from the auction will be donated to the Equal Justice Initiative and My Brother’s Keeper Alliance.

The  Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) is a nonprofit organization that provides legal representation to people who have been illegally convicted, unfairly sentenced, or abused in state jails and prisons. EJI also produces research and recommendations to assist advocates and policymakers in the critically important work of criminal justice reform.

My Brother's Keeper Alliance (MBK) leads a cross-sector national call to action focused on building safe and supportive communities for boys and young men of color where they feel valued and have clear pathways to opportunity. The MBK Alliance was established to address the persistent opportunity gaps and social inequalities that are rooted in structural and institutional racism.

Questions can be directed to Tarrence Lackran at tlackran@thevisioncouncil.org.