Commission on Opticianry Accreditation Honors Retiring Commissioner, Appoints Board

SAN ANTONIO—The Commission on Opticianry Accreditation (COA) appointed new executive board members and honored retiring commissioner Jerry Himes, ABOC, NCLC, at its spring meeting held here at the Hyatt Regency, April 6 to 7. The new appointees are Kimberly Strickler, K.S., MA, LDO, ABOC, NCLC, of the  National Federation of Opticianry Schools, Jerry Reback, AAS, ABO, NCLC, LDO, of the Opticians Association of America (OAA) and Bill Weaver, LDO, of the National Academy of Opticianry.

Re-appointed were Douglas Nunes, RDO, ABOC, NCLC, as chair and Diane Drake, MSEd, ABOM, FCLSA, as vice chair. Bill Weaver was voted as treasurer. Nunes presented retiring commissioner Himes with a plaque of appreciation for her six years of service to the COA. Both represent the OAA.