The Accessories Council’s Karen Giberson and Frank Zambrelli opened the evening’s events. Photo by Ilya S. Savenok/Getty Images for Accessories Council

NEW YORK—On August 1, the Accessories Council hosted the 26th annual ACE Awards at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City. The annual awards honor individuals and companies who have furthered the awareness and use of accessories, celebrate the accomplishments of the industry and bring consumer attention to the categories before important shopping periods. Karen Giberson, president and CEO of the Accessories Council, opened the evening, saying, “I couldn’t be prouder of our industry than I have been over the last few years, they have handled so many challenges gracefully.

"It’s so nice to return to in person networking and specifically, on the occasion of the ACE Awards, to be able to celebrate this year's exciting roster of honorees,” she said.

Within the optical industry, honorees included EssilorLuxottica’s LensCrafters and designer Victor Glemaud, who debuted an eyewear collaboration with Tura earlier this year. LensCrafters was awarded the Retail Innovation Award. Model Coco Rocha presented the award, which was accepted by LensCrafters’ vice president of operations Laurie McDonald. Victor Glemaud accepted the Breakthrough Award, presented by his mother Julie Glemaud.

(L to R) Tura’s Kristen McLaughlin, Tura’s Debra Lee Cipolla, designer Victor Glemaud, Tura’s Audrey Pavia and Tura’s Lea Waltman celebrated Glemaud’s honor at the ACE Awards. Photo via Kristen McLaughlin
Model Coco Rocha presented LensCrafters’ Laurie McDonald with the Retail Innovation Award. Photo by Ilya S. Savenok/Getty Images for Accessories Council
Musician J Balvin accepted the Global Style Icon Award. Photo by Ilya S. Savenok/Getty Images for Accessories Council

Other honorees included Colombian musician J Balvin, who received the Global Style Icon Award presented by Reggie Saunders, vice president at Nike. This year’s Legacy Award was presented to Vera Bradley.

This year’s full list of honorees is:

  • Global Style Icon: J Balvin

  • Brand of the Year: Kurt Geiger London

  • Brand Excellence: Rimowa

  • Retailer of the Year: Moda Operandi

  • Hall of Fame: Josie Natori

  • Breakthrough: Victor Glemaud

  • Launch: Veronica Beard

  • Legacy: Vera Bradley

  • Style Influencers: Molly Rogers and Danny Santiago, Costume Designers ‘And Just Like That’

  • Visionary: Ben Clymer, founder and executive chairman of Hodinkee

  • Retail Innovation: LensCrafters