Optical Women's Association Names New Leadership, President and Board Members

More Images
Robyn Crimmins was
named president of the Optical Women's Association.

LAS VEGAS—The Optical Women’s Association (OWA) has announced a new president and two additional board members. The three officially joined the association's board meeting this week.  Robyn Crimmins, division vice president, Ophthalmic West for VSP Optics and previous vice president of the OWA, has assumed the position of president effective immediately. Additionally, Megan Molony, senior vice president of merchandising for National Vision, Inc., and Jan Cory, senior director of IDOC, will join the OWA board of directors.

"I'm honored to have the opportunity to lead the thousand-women strong membership of the OWA and help advance its incredible mission," said Crimmins. "The talent, passion and dedication that Megan and Jan bring to our board of directors will allow us to build upon the success of the OWA's many programs and provide more ways for up-and-coming female leaders to flourish in our industry."

The OWA announcement added, "We would like to give special thanks to departing board members Maureen Cavanagh, VP Essilor retail-key accounts, Sue Downes, CEO of MyEyeDr., and Jean Sabre, owner of Uptown Vision. We would also like to thank our outgoing president, Tiara Claxton, Southwest regional sales manager for Thelios, who has provided leadership and direction to our association for the past two years.  Accomplishments during her term include providing additional value to members by adding a job board, Mentor Library, additional regional events (including events in Canada), Charity of Choice and #DoMore initiatives, a new Leadership Scholarship award, and a refresh of the OWA website. Claxton will remain on the OWA board as immediate past president for two years."

Jan Cory, senior director of IDOC, was also appointed to serve as an OWA board member. 

Megan Molony of National Vision, Inc. will join OWA's board of directors.

Crimmins added, “Tiara has put her heart and soul into the OWA over these past few years and working closely with her has been my privilege. My goal as incoming president is to build on the momentum created by Tiara and previous leaders like Maureen Cavanagh and others to continue their legacy of furthering leadership roles of women in the optical industry.”

The OWA, founded in 1997 as a non-profit, is committed to supporting and promoting the professional development of women involved in all facets of the optical industry.