Deirdre Carroll

Deirdre Carroll, Senior Editor

Deirdre covers news and developments in the frames, sunwear and fashion accessories markets, including products, marketing initiatives, companies and brand licenses. She also oversees retail buying and merchandising trends in these sectors. Deirdre is the editor of Style.Pages, a monthly print feature exploring fashion trends in ophthalmic eyewear and sunwear. She is the editor of VMail ProductWatch, a weekly e-newsletter offering lively briefings on frame, sun, spectacle lens and contact lens line additions. She is also the editor of Bold Face and High Visibility on VisionMonday.com and oversees Vision Monday’s social media properties @VisionMonday, Facebook.com/VisionMonday and LinkedIn. Contact Deirdre at dcarroll@jobson.com.

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, April 21, 2014 12:00 AM

The Limits of Possible

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, March 17, 2014 12:00 AM It’s hard to imagine the speed of innovation that marked the 20th century could be replicated.

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, March 03, 2014 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, February 10, 2014 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, January 20, 2014 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, December 16, 2013 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, November 18, 2013 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 12:00 PM

“Have You Heard of…”

By Deirdre Carroll
Thursday, October 17, 2013 8:30 AM Explaining what I do for a living has always been a little painful. Some people don’t understand the difference between magazine editorial and magazine advertising. Some don’t understand the concept of a B-to-B publication, as though if they can’t find it at the checkout counter of a store it’s not a real magazine.

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, September 09, 2013 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, August 19, 2013 9:34 AM

Passion Is the Tie That Binds

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, March 18, 2013 12:00 AM Perhaps it’s because as we were pulling together this issue we were coming off our Share the Love campaign (see page 6) or maybe it’s because Spring is in the air with all its “birds and bees” connotations, but the concept of “passion” has been on my mind a lot lately.

Do Over

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, November 19, 2012 12:00 AM This issue was originally dated Nov. 12 but Sandy knocked us out of commission for a week and pushed back the issue date.

Faster and Faster

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, May 14, 2012 12:00 AM In the grand scheme of things, six years really isn’t a long time but as I mark my sixth year at Vision Monday, I can’t help but reflect on how much has changed in that time (and no, I’m not talking about my hairstyles.)

Preaching to the Choir

By Deirdre Carroll
Monday, February 13, 2012 12:00 AM Recently I was asked to participate in a meeting with some colleagues to help them ramp up their social media efforts for 2012.
Loading...